Zero Spending Challenge – Day 2

I got to go shopping today! And it didn’t count as cheating! This was probably way more exciting to me than it should have been, and may possibly indicate that I have something of a shopping addiction. More on that later.

Overall, today was an easy day. I’m so glad I had the blueberry muffins made for the week. I really should do something like that every week. It makes mornings so much less stressful! Plus, I get to eat while I work with the kiddos, so I get to sleep an extra FIFTEEN WHOLE MINUTES! I’m not kidding when I say that this is a huge benefit. Seems like I never get enough sleep anymore. Remember when you were a kid and fought against that early bedtime? Yeah. An eight o’clock bedtime seems pretty amazing to me now. And naps. Wasted on the young. 😁

I decided to completely stay off the internet and email today, since I’m noticing that most of my shopping temptations seem to come from that direction. It actually helped quite a bit, and I didn’t find myself tempted in any way. Until after work. But I’m not there yet.

Lunch was awesome! I mentioned yesterday that we were having a work potluck. Mexican food. Yum! I brought the taco meat, for which I had everything on hand, and also some shredded garlic jack cheese. I know I said yesterday that it was gouda, but I was mistaken. It was jack. And it was good!

IMG_20170607_085321.jpg

I cooked up the meat before work and stored it in the fridge until it was time to eat. I was worried people wouldn’t be happy about the cheese, but nobody complained. To be fair, there was so much food that I’m not sure anyone thought anything of it!

IMG_20170607_140140.jpg

That’s my taco meat down in the corner. Everyone took seconds. 😄 Don’t library potlucks rock? And I didn’t have to pack a lunch, so that was a bonus! Plus, there’s enough food left over, that I can eat it again tomorrow for lunch. I love when things like this happen!

And then came the shopping. I had to run out to get some supplies for tomorrow’s craft program. It’s a fun one, and I know the kids will love it, but I needed black acrylic paint, and I was all out at my location. So I headed out to buy some. And some foam brushes. But since the library is paying for it, it isn’t cheating. It’s just work.

It was, however, a temptation. A big one. I kept looking around the store and seeing all kinds of things I wanted. Or that were on sale. Or that, well, mostly just things I wanted. They weren’t needs. Because, really, what so we actually need? So very little. We are so, so spoiled. I left the store feeling ashamed of myself for being so tempted by stuff. I think I might have a problem with shopping. I didn’t know that about myself until I started this challenge, so it’s been good for that, at least.

Dinner was quick and simple. Just a matter of pulling a few ingredients​ out of the freezer and pantry and cooking them up. Just don’t ask how long those bread sticks have been in my freezer. I’m thinking Valentine’s Day…

IMG_20170605_215329

I’m lucky they still tasted okay! Anyway, it only took about 25 minutes to get dinner on the table. Hubby was beyond happy. I think he’d eat pasta every day if I let him! Truthfully, though, it’s nice to have something quick and comforting at the end of a long​ day. And since we both had rough work days (big projects at mine and long hours at his) quick and easy did the trick. Yum!

IMG_20170605_222333

And with that, my day is done. Nothing left but to clean up the kitchen, cuddle with the hubby, and look forward to a great day tomorrow. Now if only I can avoid going into any stores, that would be great! I’m a fifth of the way through this challenge already. I’ve got this!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

