Zero Spending Challenge – Day 1

Day 1 and I’m already starting to stress. Do I really impulse spend that much? I don’t feel like I do, but now that I can’t spend anything, I feel like there’s so much to buy! Today alone, the following things happened:

  • I remembered that there’s a potluck at work tomorrow. I’m supposed to bring taco meat and grated cheese. Ground beef and taco seasoning I have, but the only cheese I have grated or in a block is mozzarella, feta, or a garlic Gouda! Guess it’ll have to be the Gouda! Why didn’t I plan ahead? Ugh.
  • My favorite history curriculum site offered a 40% off EVERYTHING just until tomorrow! There are some things I’d really like, but I had to pass. Deleting the email didn’t feel very good…
  • I had to skip my monthly delivery that I get of household stuff…things like dish soap and paper goods. Yes, I probably have enough to get me through the next month, but what if I don’t? *sigh*

I did it, though. I stayed strong. In all honesty, though, it was actually pretty stressful. Hopefully this gets easier. Oh, please tell me it will get easier!

On the bright side, food was a breeze. I made up a batch of my favorite Lemon-Blueberry Muffins, and we can have that for breakfasts all week. While I’d be happy with eggs, hubby is a carb ONLY person in the mornings, so I’ve come to accommodate that. Besides, these are easy and delicious muffins, and I had everything on hand.

 

It was a work day for me, so I packed my lunch. I generally pack a lunch for the hubby, too, even if he’s home, like he was today. Otherwise I get home and find him gnawing his knuckles in hunger because making lunch seemed like too much effort. Besides, making two sandwiches takes barely more time than Making one. The ingredients were simple, although I’m realizing that I’m almost out of sandwich bread, so a baking day is going to have to be in my future.

IMG_20170606_085336

As a side note, if you are still using plastic baggies for your daily sandwiches, I highly recommend giving a Bee’s Wrap a try. These beeswax-coated wraps do a great job keeping a sandwich moist and delicious, without the waste and environmental impact of plastic baggies. Plus, it supports bee-keeping, and that’s always a good thing. And did I mention how cute they are?

IMG_20170606_085906

For dinner, I was super excited when I found some thin-sliced pork in my freezer. Pork is pricey, so I watch for it to be discounted at the grocery store and pop it into my freezer until I’m ready to use it. You see, in my house, thin-sliced pork is only used for one thing. Can you guess what it is?

IMG_20170605_221844

Yep. Curry rice with tonkatsu. Mmmm…delicious. and the best part? This is the one meal hubby cooks! So I get to come home to a fresh, tasty dinner. Makes the end of the day even better.

IMG_20170606_204843

Now my tummy is full, my heart is happy, and I’m ready to continue on with the challenge. See you on Day 2!

Leave a Reply

